Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:32:20+00:00

Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Moore County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1784 from Cumberland County. This county was named for Alfred Moore (1755–1810), a captain in the Revolutionary War and justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Moore County is bordered by Chatham County (northeast), Lee County (northeast), Harnett County (east), Cumberland County (southeast), Hoke County (southeast), Richmond County (southwest), Montgomery County (west), Randolph County (northwest).

Moore County Cities and Towns include Aberdeen, Cameron, Carthage, Foxfire, Pinebluff, Pinehurst, Robbins, Seven Lakes, Southern Pines, Taylortown, Vass, Whispering Pines.

Moore County Townships are both numbered and named: 1 (Carthage), 2 (Bensalem), 3 (Sheffields), 4 (Ritter), 5 (Deep River), 6 (Greenwood), 7 (McNeill), 8 (Sandhill), 9 (Mineral Springs), and 10 (Little River) . View a Map of Moore County Townships.

Moore County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Moore County, North Carolina Courthouse
Moore County, NC Courthouse

Old Moore County Courthouse

The Moore County Courthouse is located in Carthage, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Moore county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Moore County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1889 by fire, some early records were destroyed.

  • Moore County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1851, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1787. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Moore County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1783, Court Records from 1784 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Moore County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Moore Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Moore County, North Carolina Census Records

Moore County, North Carolina Vital Records

Moore County, North Carolina Resources

Moore County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records