Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:02:39+00:00

Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Harnett County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on February 7, 1855 from Cumberland County. This county was named for Cornelius Harnett (1723–1781), an American Revolutionary and delegate in the Continental Congress. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Harnett County is bordered by Wake County (northeast), Johnston County (east), Sampson County (southeast), Cumberland County (south), Moore County (southwest), Lee County (northwest), Chatham County (northwest).

Harnett County Cities and Towns include Angier, Broadway, BuiesCreek (unincorporated), Coats, Dunn, Erwin, Lillington. A Map of Harnett County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Harnett County Townships include Anderson Creek, Averasboro, Barbecue, Black River, Buckhorn, Duke, Grove, Hectors Creek, Johnsonville, Lillington, Neills Creek, Stewarts Creek, and Upper Little River View a Map of Harnett County Townships.

Harnett County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Harnett County, North Carolina Courthouse
Harnett County, NC Courthouse

Old Harnett County Courthouse

The Harnett County Courthouse is located in Lillington, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Harnett county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Harnett County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1892 & 1894 by fire, Some records fragmented

  • Harnett County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1892, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1855. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Harnett County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1854, Court Records from 1875 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Harnett County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Harnett Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Harnett County, North Carolina Census Records

Harnett County, North Carolina Vital Records

Harnett County, North Carolina Resources

Harnett County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records