Johnston County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:05:37+00:00

Johnston County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Johnston County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on June 28, 1746 from Craven County. This county was named for Gabriel Johnston (1699–1752), a governor of colonial North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Johnston County is bordered by Nash County (northeast), Wilson County (northeast), Wayne County (southeast), Sampson County (south), Harnett County (southwest), Wake County (northwest).

Johnston County Cities and Towns include Benson, Clayton, FourOaks, Kenly, Micro, PineLevel, Princeton, Selma, Smithfield, WestSmithfield, Wilson%27sMills, Zebulon. A Map of Johnston County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Johnston County Townships include Banner, Bentonville, Beulah, Boon Hill, Clayton, Cleveland, Elevation, Ingrams, Meadow, Micro, O'Neals, Pine Level, Pleasant Grove, Selma, Smithfield, Wilders, and Wilson Mills. View a Map of Johnston County Townships.

Johnston County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Johnston County, North Carolina Courthouse
Johnston County, NC Courthouse

Old Johnston County Courthouse

The Johnston County Courthouse is located in Smithfield, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Johnston county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Johnston County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some early records are missing, Records Fragmented.

  • Johnston County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1746, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1748. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Johnston County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1760, Court Records from 1759 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Johnston County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Johnston Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Johnston County, North Carolina Census Records

Johnston County, North Carolina Vital Records

Johnston County, North Carolina Resources

Johnston County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records