Sampson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:44:20+00:00

Sampson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Sampson County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1784 from Duplin County. This county was named for John Sampson, a member of Josiah Martin's council . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Sampson County is bordered by Johnston County (north), Wayne County (northeast), Duplin County (east), Pender County (southeast), Bladen County (southwest), Cumberland County (west), Harnett County (northwest).

Sampson County Cities and Towns include Autryville, Bonnetsville, Clinton, Delway, Garland, Ingold, Ivanhoe, Keener, NewtonGrove, PlainView, Roseboro, Salemburg, SpiveysCorner, Turkey, VannCrossroads. A Map of Sampson County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Sampson County Townships include Belvoir, Dismal, Franklin, Halls, Herring, Honeycutt, Lisbon, Little Coharie, McDaniels, Mingo, Newton Grove, North Clinton, Piney Grove, Plain View, South Clinton, South River, Taylors Bridge, Turkey, and Westbrook. View a Map of Sampson County Townships.

Sampson County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Sampson County, North Carolina Courthouse
Sampson County, NC Courthouse

The Sampson County Courthouse is located in Clinton, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Sampson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Sampson County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some County Courthouse records may have been destroyed in 1865 and by the clerk's office fire in 1921.

  • Sampson County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1867, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1752. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Sampson County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1778, Court Records from 1790 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Sampson County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Sampson Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Sampson County, North Carolina Census Records

Sampson County, North Carolina Vital Records

Sampson County, North Carolina Resources

Sampson County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records