Cumberland County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:51:24+00:00

Cumberland County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Cumberland County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on February 19, 1754 from Bladen County. This county was named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland (1721–1765), a military leader and son of George II. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Cumberland County is bordered by Harnett County (north), Sampson County (east), Bladen County (south), Robeson County (southwest), Hoke County (west), Moore County (northwest).

Cumberland County Cities and Towns include Eastover, Falcon, Fayetteville, FortBragg, Godwin, HopeMills, Linden, PopeAFB, SpringLake, Stedman, Vander, Wade. A Map of Cumberland County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cumberland County Townships include Beaver Dam, Black River, Carvers Creek, Cedar Creek, Cross Creek, Eastover, Gray's Creek, Manchester, Pearces Mill, Rockfish, and Seventy-First. View a Map of Cumberland County Townships.

Cumberland County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Cumberland County, North Carolina Courthouse
Cumberland County, NC Courthouse

Old Cumberland County Courthouse

The Cumberland County Courthouse is located in Fayetteville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cumberland county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Cumberland County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Cumberland County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1800, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1752. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Cumberland County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1757, Court Records from 1755 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Cumberland County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Cumberland Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Cumberland County, North Carolina Census Records

Cumberland County, North Carolina Vital Records

Cumberland County, North Carolina Resources

Cumberland County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records