Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:43:07+00:00

Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Robeson County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1787 from Bladen County. This county was named for Thomas Robeson, an officer in the American Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Robeson County is bordered by Cumberland County (northeast), Bladen County (east), Columbus County (southeast), Dillon County, South Carolina (southwest), Marlboro County, South Carolina (west), Scotland County (northwest), Hoke County (northwest).

Robeson County Cities and Towns include BarkerTenMile, Elrod, Fairmont, LumberBridge, Lumberton, Marietta, Maxton, McDonald, Orrum, Parkton, Pembroke, Proctorville, Prospect, Raemon, Raynham, RedSprings, Rennert, Rex, Rowland, Shannon, St.Pauls. A Map of Robeson County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Robeson County Townships include Alfordsville, Back Swamp, Britts, Burnt Swamp, East Howellsville, Fairmont, Gaddy, Lumber Bridge, Lumberton, Maxton, Orrum, Parkton, Pembroke, Philadelphus, Raft Swamp, Raynham, Red Springs, Rennert, Rowland, Saddletree, Shannon, Smiths, Smyrna, St. Pauls, Sterlings, Thompson, Union, West Howellsville, Whitehouse, and Wishart. View a Map of Robeson County Townships.

Robeson County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Robeson County, North Carolina Courthouse
Robeson County, NC Courthouse

The Robeson County Courthouse is located in Lumberton, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Robeson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Robeson County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Robeson County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1803, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1782. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Robeson County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1783, Court Records from 1795 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Robeson County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Robeson Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Robeson County, North Carolina Census Records

Robeson County, North Carolina Vital Records

Robeson County, North Carolina Resources

Robeson County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records