Columbus County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:50:43+00:00

Columbus County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Columbus County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 15, 1808 from Brunswick County and Bladen County. This county was named for Christopher Columbus (1451–1507), navigator, explorer, and one of the first Europeans to explore the Americas . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Columbus County is bordered by Bladen County (north), Pender County (northeast), Brunswick County (southeast), Horry County, South Carolina (southwest), Robeson County (northwest).

Columbus County Cities and Towns include Boardman, Bolton, Brunswick, CerroGordo, Chadbourn, Evergreen, FairBluff, LakeWaccamaw, Nakina, TaborCity, Whiteville. A Map of Columbus County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Columbus County Townships include Bogue, Bolton, Bug Hill, Cerro Gordo, Chadbourn, Fair Bluff, Lees, Ransom, South Williams, Tabor City, Tatums, Lake Waccamaw, Welch Creek, Western Prong, Whiteville, and Williams. View a Map of Columbus County Townships.

Columbus County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Columbus County, North Carolina Courthouse
Columbus County, NC Courthouse

The Columbus County Courthouse is located in Whiteville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Columbus county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Columbus County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Columbus County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1867, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1802. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Columbus County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1808, Court Records from 1817 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Columbus County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Columbus Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Columbus County, North Carolina Census Records

Columbus County, North Carolina Vital Records

Columbus County, North Carolina Resources

Columbus County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records