Bladen County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:33:17+00:00

Bladen County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Bladen County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1734 from New Hanover Precinct and Bath County. This county was named for Martin Bladen, a member of the Board of Trade. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Bladen County is bordered by Cumberland County (north), Sampson County (northeast), Pender County (southeast), Columbus County (south), Robeson County (west).

Bladen County Cities and Towns include Bladenboro, Butters, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia, Elizabethtown, Kelly, Tar Heel, WhiteLake, White Oak. A Map of Bladen County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Bladen County Townships include Abbotts, Bethel, Bladenboro, Brown Marsh, Carvers Creek, Central, Colly, Cypress Creek, Elizabethtown, East Arcadia, Frenches Creek, Hollow, Lake Creek, Turnbull, White Oak, and Whites Creek. View a Map of Bladen County Townships.

Bladen County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Bladen County, North Carolina Courthouse
Bladen County, NC Courthouse

The Bladen County Courthouse is located in Elizabethtown, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bladen county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Bladen County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1770, 1800 and 1893 by fire, some records were destroyed in the 1800 and 1893 fires.

  • Bladen County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1868, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1784. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Bladen County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1766, Court Records from 1866 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Bladen County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Bladen Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Bladen County, North Carolina Census Records

Bladen County, North Carolina Vital Records

Bladen County, North Carolina Resources

Bladen County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records