Brunswick County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:33:39+00:00

Brunswick County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Brunswick County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 30, 1764 from Bladen County and New Hanover County. This county was named for George I of Great Britain (1660–1727), Duke of Brunswick and Lüneburg. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Brunswick County is bordered by Pender County (northeast), New Hanover County (east), Horry County, South Carolina (southwest), Columbus County (northwest).

Brunswick County Cities and Towns include Bald Head Island, Belville, Boiling Spring Lakes, Bolivia, Calabash, CarolinaShores, Caswell Beach, Holden Beach, Leland, Navassa, Northwest, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Sandy Creek, Shallotte, Southport, St. James, Sunset Beach, Varnamtown, Winnabow, Piney Grove. A Map of Brunswick County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Brunswick County Townships include Lockwoods Folly, Northwest, Shallotte, Smithville, Town Creek, and Waccamaw. View a Map of Brunswick County Townships.

Brunswick County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Brunswick County, North Carolina Courthouse
Brunswick County, NC Courthouse

The Brunswick County Courthouse is located in Bolivia, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Brunswick county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Brunswick County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1865 from the civil war, and 1957 in a clerk's office fire. Some records were destroyed in the 1865 fire.

  • Brunswick County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1804, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1764. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Brunswick County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1764, Court Records from 1782 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Brunswick County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Brunswick Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Brunswick County, North Carolina Census Records

Brunswick County, North Carolina Vital Records

Brunswick County, North Carolina Resources

Brunswick County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records