Hoke County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:04:04+00:00

Hoke County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Hoke County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on February 17, 1911 from Cumberland County and Robeson County. This county was named for Robert Hoke (1837–1912), a Confederate general during the American Civil War. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Hoke County is bordered by Moore County (northwest), Cumberland County (east), Robeson County (south), Scotland County (southwest).

Hoke County Cities and Towns include Ashley Heights, Bowmore, Dundarrach, Five Points, Raeford, Rockfish, Silver City. A Map of Hoke County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hoke County Townships include Allendale, Antioch, Blue Springs, Fort Bragg Military Reservation, McLauchlin, Raeford, Quewhiffle, and Stonewall. View a Map of Hoke County Townships.

Hoke County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Hoke County, North Carolina Courthouse
Hoke County, NC Courthouse

The Hoke County Courthouse is located in Raeford, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hoke county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Hoke County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Hoke County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1911, Marriage Records from 1911, Death Records from 1911 and Land Records from 1911. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Hoke County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1911, Court Records from 1911 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Hoke County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Hoke Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Hoke County, North Carolina Census Records

  • Learn More: State of North Carolina Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • Native American Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Hoke County, North Carolina Vital Records

Hoke County, North Carolina Resources

Hoke County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records