Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:51:02+00:00

Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Craven County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 3, 1705 from Archdale Precinct of Bath County. This county was named for William Craven, 1st Earl of Craven (1608–1697), who was a Lords Proprietor of colonial North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Craven County is bordered by Beaufort County (northeast), Pamlico County (east), Carteret County (southeast), Jones County (southwest), Lenoir County (west), Pitt County (northwest) .

Craven County Cities and Towns include BricesCreek, Bridgeton, CoveCity, Dover, FairfieldHarbour, Havelock, JamesCity, NeuseForest, NewBern, RiverBend, TrentWoods, Vanceboro, Harlowe, CherryPoint, Cherry Branch. A Map of Craven County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Craven County Townships include Township 5, Township 3, Township 2, Township 1, Township 7, Township 6, Township 8, Township 9. View a Map of Craven County Townships.

Craven County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Craven County, North Carolina Courthouse
Craven County, NC Courthouse

The Craven County Courthouse is located in New Bern, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Craven county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Craven County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. In 1712 the Craven County Courthouse records destroyed by Indians.

  • Craven County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from ?, Marriage Records from 1740, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1710. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Craven County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1737, Court Records from 1712 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Craven County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Craven Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Craven County, North Carolina Census Records

Craven County, North Carolina Vital Records

Craven County, North Carolina Resources

Craven County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records