Pitt County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:41:02+00:00

Pitt County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Pitt County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1760 from Beaufort County. This county was named for William Pitt, 1st Earl of Chatham (1708–1778), Secretary of State during the French and Indian War and was later Prime Minister of Great Britain. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Pitt County is bordered by Martin County (northeast), Beaufort County (east), Craven County (southeast), Lenoir County (southwest), Greene County (southwest), Wilson County (west), Edgecombe County (northwest).

Pitt County Cities and Towns include Ayden, Belvedere, Bethel, Falkland, Farmville, Fountain, Greenville, Grifton, Grimesland, Simpson, Winterville. A Map of Pitt County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pitt County Townships include Arthur, Ayden, Belvoir, Bethel, Black Jack, Carolina, Chicod, Falkland, Farmville, Fountain, Greenville, Grifton, Grimesland, Pactolus, Simpson, Swift Creek, and Winterville. View a Map of Pitt County Townships.

Pitt County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Pitt County, North Carolina Courthouse
Pitt County, NC Courthouse

The Pitt County Courthouse is located in Greenville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pitt county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Pitt County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1857 by fire, Records Fragmented.

  • Pitt County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1826, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1762. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Pitt County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1836, Court Records from 1850 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Pitt County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Pitt Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Pitt County, North Carolina Census Records

Pitt County, North Carolina Vital Records

Pitt County, North Carolina Resources

Pitt County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records