Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:08:07+00:00

Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Martin County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on March 2, 1774 from Halifax County and Tyrrell County. This county was named for Josiah Martin (1737–1786), the last governor of colonial North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Martin County is bordered by Bertie County (northeast), Washington County (east), Beaufort County (southeast), Pitt County (southwest), Edgecombe County (west), Halifax County (northwest).

Martin County Cities and Towns include Bear Grass, Everetts, Hamilton, Hassell, Jamesville, Oak City, Parmele, Robersonville, Williamston. A Map of Martin County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Martin County Townships include Bear Grass, Cross Roads, Goose Nest, Griffins, Hamilton, Jamesville, Poplar Point, Robersonville, Williams, and Williamston. View a Map of Martin County Townships.

Martin County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Martin County, North Carolina Courthouse
Martin County, NC Courthouse

Old Martin County Courthouse

The Martin County Courthouse is located in Franklin, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Martin county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Martin County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1862 by fire, Some early records were destroyed.

  • Martin County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1872, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1774. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Martin County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1774, Court Records from 1809 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Martin County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Martin Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Martin County, North Carolina Census Records

Martin County, North Carolina Vital Records

Martin County, North Carolina Resources

Martin County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records