Halifax County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:02:20+00:00

Halifax County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Halifax County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 12, 1758 from Edgecombe County. This county was named for George Montagu-Dunk, 2nd Earl of Halifax (1716–1771), a British statesman and President of the Board of Trade. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Halifax County is bordered by Northampton County (northeast), Bertie County (east), Martin County (southeast), Edgecombe County (south), Nash County (southwest), Warren County (northwest).

Halifax County Cities and Towns include Aurelian Springs, Brinkleyville, Enfield, Halifax, Heathsville, Hobgood, Littleton, Roanoke Rapids, Scotland Neck, South Rosemary, South Weldon, Weldon. A Map of Halifax County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Halifax County Townships include Brinkleyville, Butterwood, Conoconnara, Enfield, Faucett, Halifax, Littleton, Palmyra, Roanoke Rapids, Roseneath, Scotland Neck, and Weldon. View a Map of Halifax County Townships.

Halifax County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Halifax County, North Carolina Courthouse
Halifax County, NC Courthouse

Old Halifax County Courthouse

The Halifax County Courthouse is located in Halifax, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Halifax county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Halifax County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Halifax County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1770, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1716. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Halifax County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1759, Court Records from 1759 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Halifax County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Halifax Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Halifax County, North Carolina Census Records

Halifax County, North Carolina Vital Records

Halifax County, North Carolina Resources

Halifax County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records