Northampton County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:37:59+00:00

Northampton County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Northampton County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1741 from Bertie County. This county was named for James Compton, 5th Earl of Northampton (1687–1754), a British peer and politician . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Northampton County is bordered by Greensville County, Virginia (north), Southampton County, Virginia (northeast), Hertford County (east), Bertie County (southeast), Halifax County (southwest), Warren County (northwest), Brunswick County, Virginia (northwest).

Northampton County Cities and Towns include Conway, Garysburg, Gaston, Jackson, Lasker, RichSquare, Seaboard, Severn, Woodland. A Map of Northampton County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Northampton County Townships include Gaston, Garysburg, Jackson, Rich Square, Lasker, Woodland, Severn, Seaboard, and Conway. View a Map of Northampton County Townships.

Northampton County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Northampton County, North Carolina Courthouse
Northampton County, NC Courthouse

The Northampton County Courthouse is located in Jackson, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Northampton county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Northampton County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Northampton County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1917, Marriage Records from 1811, Death Records from 1917 and Land Records from 1741. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Northampton County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1759, Court Records from 1771 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Northampton County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Northampton Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Northampton County, North Carolina Census Records

Northampton County, North Carolina Vital Records

Northampton County, North Carolina Resources

Northampton County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records