Warren County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:47:53+00:00

Warren County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Warren County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 20, 1779 from Bute County. This county was named for Joseph Warren (1741–1775), a Patriot and volunteer private who was mortally wounded at the Battle of Bunker Hill. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Warren County is bordered by Brunswick County, Virginia (northeast), Northampton County (northeast), Halifax County (east), Franklin County (south), Vance County (west), Mecklenburg County, Virginia (northwest).

Warren County Cities and Towns include Macon, Norlina, Warrenton. A Map of Warren County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Warren County Townships include Fishing Creek, Fork, Hawtree, Judkins, Nutbush, River, Roanoke, Sandy Creek, Shocco, Sixpound, Smith Creek, and Warrenton. View a Map of Warren County Townships.

Warren County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Warren County, North Carolina Courthouse
Warren County, NC Courthouse

The Warren County Courthouse is located in Warrenton, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Warren county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Warren County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some early County records may have been destroyed in 1935

  • Warren County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1779, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1764. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Warren County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1763, Court Records from 1769 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Warren County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Warren Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Warren County, North Carolina Census Records

Warren County, North Carolina Vital Records

Warren County, North Carolina Resources

Warren County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records