Tyrrell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:46:40+00:00

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Tyrrell County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1729 from Chowan Precinct, Currituck Precinct and Pasquotank Precinct and Albemarle County. This county was named for John Tyrrell, at one time was a Lords Proprietor. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Tyrrell County is bordered by Pasquotank County (north), Camden County (northeast), Currituck County (northeast), Dare County (east), Hyde County (south), Washington County (west), Perquimans County (northwest).

Tyrrell County Cities and Towns include Columbia, Jerry, Pleasant View, Fort Landing. A Map of Tyrrell County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Tyrrell County Townships include Alligator, Columbia, Gum Neck, Scuppernong, and South Fork. View a Map of Tyrrell County Townships.

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Courthouse
Tyrrell County, NC Courthouse

The Tyrrell County Courthouse is located in Columbia, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Tyrrell county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Tyrrell County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Tyrrell County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1742, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1736. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Tyrrell County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1739, Court Records from 1735 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Tyrrell County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Tyrrell Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Census Records

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Vital Records

Tyrrell County, North Carolina Resources

Tyrrell County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records