Pasquotank County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:39:13+00:00

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Pasquotank County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1668 from Carteret Precinct and Albemarle County. This county was named for the Native American word pasketanki which meant "where the current of the stream divides or forks" . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Pasquotank County is bordered by Camden County (east), Perquimans County (southwest), Gates County (northwest).

Pasquotank County Cities and Towns include Elizabeth City, Weeksville. A Map of Pasquotank County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pasquotank County Townships include Elizabeth City, Salem, Providence, Newland, Mount Hermon, Nixonton. View a Map of Pasquotank County Townships.

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Courthouse
Pasquotank County, NC Courthouse

The Pasquotank County Courthouse is located in Elizabeth City, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pasquotank county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Pasquotank County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Pasquotank County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1691, Marriage Records from 1691, Death Records from 1691 and Land Records from 1666. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Pasquotank County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1709, Court Records from 1737 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Pasquotank County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Pasquotank Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Census Records

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Vital Records

Pasquotank County, North Carolina Resources

Pasquotank County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records