Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:01:40+00:00

Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Greene County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on November 18, 1799 from Glasgow County. This county was named for Nathanael Greene (1742–1786), a major general of the Continental Army in the American Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Greene County is bordered by Pitt County (northeast), Lenoir County (south), Wayne County (west), Wilson County (northwest).

Greene County Cities and Towns include Hookerton, SnowHill, Walstonburg. A Map of Greene County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Greene County Townships include Bull Head, Carrs, Hookerton, Jason, Olds, Ormondsville, Shine, Snow Hill, and Speights Bridge. View a Map of Greene County Townships.

Greene County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Greene County, North Carolina Courthouse
Greene County, NC Courthouse

The Greene County Courthouse is located in Snow Hill, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Greene county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Greene County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1876 by fire, Some records fragmented

  • Greene County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1875, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1857. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Greene County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1809, Court Records from 1861 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Greene County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Greene Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Greene County, North Carolina Census Records

Greene County, North Carolina Vital Records

Greene County, North Carolina Resources

Greene County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records