Chatham County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:49:02+00:00

Chatham County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Chatham County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on April 1, 1771 from Orange County. This county was named for William Pitt, 1st Earl of Chatham (1708–1778), Secretary of State during the French and Indian War and was later Prime Minister of Great Britain. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Chatham County is bordered by Orange County (north), Durham County (northeast), Wake County (east), Harnett County (southeast), Lee County (south), Moore County (southwest), Randolph County (west), Alamance County (northwest).

Chatham County Cities and Towns include Fearrington, Goldston, Pittsboro, SilerCity, BearCreek, Bennett, Bonlee, Bynum, Carbonton, Corinth, Gulf, Haywood, Moncure, SilkHope, Wilsonville, Brickhaven. A Map of Chatham County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chatham County Townships include Albright, Baldwin, Bear Creek, Cape Fear, Center, Gulf, Hadley, Haw River, Hickory Mountain, Matthews, New Hope, Oakland, and Williams. View a Map of Chatham County Townships.

Chatham County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Chatham County, North Carolina Courthouse
Chatham County, NC Courthouse

Old Chatham County Courthouse

The Chatham County Courthouse is located in Pittsboro, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chatham county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Chatham County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Chatham County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from ?, Marriage Records from 1772, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1771. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Chatham County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1771, Court Records from 1757 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Chatham County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Chatham Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Chatham County, North Carolina Census Records

Chatham County, North Carolina Vital Records

Chatham County, North Carolina Resources

Chatham County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records