Alamance County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:30:48+00:00

Alamance County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Alamance County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 29, 1849 from Orange County. This county was named for the Battle of Alamance which was derived from the local Native American word meaning "blue clay" found in the Great Alamance Creek. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Alamance County is bordered by Caswell County (north), Orange County (east), Chatham County (south), Randolph County (southwest) and Guilford County (west).

Alamance County Cities and Towns include Alamance, Burlington, Elon, Gibsonville, Graham, GreenLevel, HawRiver, Mebane, Altamahaw-Ossipee, Swepsonville. A Map of Alamance County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Alamance County Townships include Patterson, Coble, Boone Station, Morton, Faucette, Graham, Albright, Newlin, Thompson, Melville, Pleasant Grove, Burlington and Haw River. View a Map of Alamance County Townships.

Alamance County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Alamance County, North Carolina Courthouse
Alamance County, NC Courthouse

The Alamance County Courthouse is located in Graham, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Alamance county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Alamance County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Alamance County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1853, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1793. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Alamance County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1832, Court Records from 1849 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Alamance County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Alamance Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Alamance County, North Carolina Census Records

Alamance County, North Carolina Vital Records

Alamance County, North Carolina Resources

Alamance County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records