Caswell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:48:22+00:00

Caswell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Caswell County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1777 from Orange County. This county was named for Richard Caswell (1729–1789), member of the first Continental Congress and first governor of North Carolina after the Declaration of Independence. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Caswell County is bordered by City of Danville, Virginia (north), Pittsylvania County, Virginia (north), Halifax County, Virginia (northeast), Person County (east), Orange County (southeast), Alamance County (southwest), Rockingham County ( west).

Caswell County Cities and Towns include Milton, Yanceyville, Casville, Leasburg, Pelham, Prospect Hill, Purley, Semora. A Map of Caswell County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Caswell County Townships include Anderson, Dan River, Hightowers, Leasburg, Locust Hill, Milton, Pelham, Stoney Creek, and Yanceyville. View a Map of Caswell County Townships.

Caswell County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Caswell County, North Carolina Courthouse
Caswell County, NC Courthouse

Old Caswell County Courthouse

The Caswell County Courthouse is located in Yanceyville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Caswell county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Caswell County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Caswell County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1775, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1777. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Caswell County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1771, Court Records from 1767 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Caswell County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Caswell Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Caswell County, North Carolina Census Records

Caswell County, North Carolina Vital Records

Caswell County, North Carolina Resources

Caswell County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records