Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:38:36+00:00

Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Orange County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1752 from Johnston County, Bladen County and Granville County. This county was named for William V, Prince of Orange (1748–1806), the last Stadtholder of the Dutch Republic. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Orange County is bordered by Person County (northeast), Durham County (east), Chatham County (south), Alamance County (west), Caswell County (northwest) .

Orange County Cities and Towns include Carrboro, ChapelHill, Hillsborough, Mebane. A Map of Orange County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Orange County Townships include Bingham, Cedar Grove, Chapel Hill, Cheeks, Eno, Hillsborough, and Little River. View a Map of Orange County Townships.

Orange County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Orange County, North Carolina Courthouse
Orange County, NC Courthouse

Old Orange County Courthouse

The Orange County Courthouse is located in Hillsborough, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Orange county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Orange County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some County Courthouse records destroyed when buried in woods to avoid capture or destruction by Cornwallis in 1781

  • Orange County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1779, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1752. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Orange County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1752, Court Records from 1752 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Orange County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Orange Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Orange County, North Carolina Census Records

Orange County, North Carolina Vital Records

Orange County, North Carolina Resources

Orange County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records