Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:01:58+00:00

Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Guilford County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 5, 1771 from Rowan County and Orange County. This county was named for Francis North, 1st Earl of Guilford (1704–1790), a British politician and father of Prime Minister of Great Britain Frederick North. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Guilford County is bordered by Rockingham County ( north), Alamance County (east), Randolph County (west), Davidson County (southwest), Forsyth County (west).

Guilford County Cities and Towns include Greensboro, HighPoint, Jamestown, OakRidge, PleasantGarden, Sedalia, Stokesdale, Summerfield, Whitsett, Colfax, BrownsSummit, Gibsonville, Archdale, McLeansville. A Map of Guilford County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Guilford County Townships include Bruce, Center Grove, Clay, Deep River, Fentress, Friendship, Gilmer, Greene, High Point, Jamestown, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Morehead, Oak Ridge, Rock Creek, Sumner, and Washington. View a Map of Guilford County Townships.

Guilford County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Guilford County, North Carolina Courthouse
Guilford County, NC Courthouse

Old Guilford County Courthouse

The Guilford County Courthouse is located in Greensboro, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Guilford county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Guilford County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1781 & 1872 by fire

  • Guilford County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1770, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1771. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Guilford County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1771, Court Records from 1774 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Guilford County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Guilford Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Guilford County, North Carolina Census Records

Guilford County, North Carolina Vital Records

Guilford County, North Carolina Resources

Guilford County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records