Rowan County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:43:43+00:00

Rowan County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Rowan County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1753 from Anson County. This county was named for Matthew Rowan (d. 1769), was the acting Governor of colonial North Carolina following the death of Governor Nathaniel Rice. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Rowan County is bordered by Davie County (north), Davidson County (northeast), Stanly County (southeast), Cabarrus County (south), Iredell County (west).

Rowan County Cities and Towns include ChinaGrove, Cleveland, EastSpencer, Enochville, Faith, GraniteQuarry, Kannapolis, Landis, Rockwell, Salisbury, Spencer. A Map of Rowan County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Rowan County Townships include Atwell, China Grove, Cleveland, East Spencer, Franklin, Gold Hill, Kannapolis, Litaker, Locke, Morgan, Mount Ulla, Providence, Rockwell, Salisbury, Scotch Irish, Spencer, Steele, and Unity. View a Map of Rowan County Townships.

Rowan County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Rowan County, North Carolina Courthouse
Rowan County, NC Courthouse

Old Rowan County Courthouse

The Rowan County Courthouse is located in Salisbury, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rowan county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Rowan County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse records were destroyed due to Civil War Action in 1865.

  • Rowan County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1753, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1753. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Rowan County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1743, Court Records from 1753 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Rowan County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Rowan Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Rowan County, North Carolina Census Records

Rowan County, North Carolina Vital Records

Rowan County, North Carolina Resources

Rowan County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records