Stanly County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:45:06+00:00

Stanly County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Stanly County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 11, 1841 from Montgomery County. This county was named for John Stanly (1774–1834), a United States Congressman and Speaker of the North Carolina House of Commons. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Stanly County is bordered by Rowan County (north), Montgomery County (east), Anson County (southeast), Union County (southwest), Cabarrus County (west).

Stanly County Cities and Towns include Albemarle, Badin, Locust, NewLondon, Norwood, Oakboro, Richfield, Stanfield, Misenheimer, Red Cross, Aquadale, Palestine. A Map of Stanly County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Stanly County Townships include Almond, Big Lick, Center, Endy, Furr, Harris, North Albemarle, Ridenhour, Sourightx|th Albemarle, and Tyson. View a Map of Stanly County Townships.

Stanly County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Stanly County, North Carolina Courthouse
Stanly County, NC Courthouse

The Stanly County Courthouse is located in Albemarle, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Stanly county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Stanly County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Stanly County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1850, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1840. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Stanly County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1839, Court Records from 1840 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Stanly County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Stanly Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Stanly County, North Carolina Census Records

Stanly County, North Carolina Vital Records

Stanly County, North Carolina Resources

Stanly County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records