Montgomery County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Montgomery County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1779 from Anson County. This county was named for Richard Montgomery (1738–1775), a major general during the Revolutionary War who was killed at the Battle of Quebec. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Montgomery County is bordered by Randolph County (northeast), Moore County (east), Richmond County (south), Stanly County (west), Davidson County (northwest).

Montgomery County Cities and Towns include Biscoe, Candor, MountGilead, Star, Troy. A Map of Montgomery County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Montgomery County Townships include Biscoe, Cheek Creek, Eldorado, Little River, Mount Gilead, Ophir, Pee Dee, Rocky Springs, Star, Troy, and Uwharrie. View a Map of Montgomery County Townships.

Montgomery County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, North Carolina Courthouse
Montgomery County, NC Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Troy, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montgomery county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Montgomery County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1835, 1840 &1886 by fire. Some early records were destroyed in the 1835 fire. May have suffered record loss from courthouse fire in 1886, The clerk said that he saved the records but that they were "in a state of great confusion.".

  • Montgomery County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1779, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1769. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Montgomery County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1785, Court Records from 1807 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Montgomery County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Montgomery Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Montgomery County, North Carolina Census Records

Montgomery County, North Carolina Vital Records

Montgomery County, North Carolina Resources

Montgomery County, North Carolina External Links