Union County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:46:58+00:00

Union County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Union County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1842 from Anson County and Mecklenburg County. This county was named for a compromise after a dispute between local Whigs and Democrats as to whether it should be named Clay or Jackson county . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Union County is bordered by Cabarrus County (north), Stanly County (northeast), Anson County (east), Chesterfield County, South Carolina (southeast), Lancaster County, South Carolina (southwest), Mecklenburg County (northwest).

Union County Cities and Towns include Hemby Bridge, Indian Trail, JAARS, Lake Park, Marshville, Marvin, Mineral Springs, Monroe (County Seat & Largest City), Stallings, Unionville, Waxhaw, Weddington, Wesley Chapel, Wingate. A Map of Union County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Union County Townships include Goose Creek, Indian Trail, Jackson, Lake Park, Marshville, Monroe, New Salem, Stallings, Waxhaw, and Weddington. View a Map of Union County Townships.

Union County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Union County, North Carolina Courthouse
Union County, NC Courthouse

Old Union County Courthouse

The Union County Courthouse is located in Monroe, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Union County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Union County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1842, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1842. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Union County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1837, Court Records from 1843 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Union County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Union Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Union County, North Carolina Census Records

Union County, North Carolina Vital Records

Union County, North Carolina Resources

Union County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records