Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:46:49+00:00

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Cabarrus County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on November 15, 1792 from Mecklenburg County. This county was named for Stephen Cabarrus (1754–1808), member of the legislature and Speaker of the North Carolina House of Commons. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Cabarrus County is bordered by Rowan County (north), Stanly County (east), Union County (south), Mecklenburg County (west), Iredell County (northwest).

Cabarrus County Cities and Towns include Concord, Harrisburg, Kannapolis, Mount Pleasant, Midland. A Map of Cabarrus County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cabarrus County Townships include Harrisburg, Poplar Tent, Odell, Kannapolis, New Gilead, Rimertown, Gold Hill, Mount Pleasant, Georgeville, Midland, Central Cabarrus, and Concord. View a Map of Cabarrus County Townships.

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Courthouse
Cabarrus County, NC Courthouse

The Cabarrus County Courthouse is located in Concord, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cabarrus county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Cabarrus County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1876 by fire.

  • Cabarrus County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1792, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1784. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Cabarrus County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1793, Court Records from 1793 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Cabarrus County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Cabarrus Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Census Records

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Vital Records

Cabarrus County, North Carolina Resources

Cabarrus County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records