Lee County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:06:08+00:00

Lee County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Lee County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on March 6, 1907 from Moore County and Chatham County. This county was named for Robert E. Lee (1807–1870), a career United States Army officer and general of the Confederate forces during the American Civil War. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Lee County is bordered by Chatham County (north), Harnett County (southeast), Moore County (southwest).

Lee County Cities and Towns include Broadway, Sanford.

Lee County Townships are all numbered and named and include: 1 (Greenwood), 2 (Jonesboro), 3 (Cape Fear), 4 (Deep River), 5 (East Sanford), 6 (West Sanford), and 7 (Pocket). View a Map of Lee County Townships.

Lee County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Lee County, North Carolina Courthouse
Lee County, NC Courthouse

The Lee County Courthouse is located in Sanford, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lee county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Lee County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Lee County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1908, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1908. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Lee County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1906, Court Records from 1908 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Lee County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Lee Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Lee County, North Carolina Census Records

  • Learn More: State of North Carolina Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • Native American Population Schedules: 1894-1913
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Lee County, North Carolina Vital Records

Lee County, North Carolina Resources

Lee County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records