Bibb County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:31:38+00:00

Bibb County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Bibb County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 7, 1818 by the Alabama Territorial Legislature and was formed from Monroe County and Montgomery County. Was originally called Cahawba County, name was changed to Bibb on December 4, 1820. Alterations were made to the boundaries in 1818, 1819, 1820, 1821 and 1868. Bibb county was named in honor of Alabama's first governor, William Wyatt Bibb. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Bibb County is bordered by Jefferson County (north), Shelby County (northeast), Chilton County (southeast), Perry County (southwest), Hale County (southwest), Tuscaloosa County (northwest)

Bibb County Cities and Towns include Brent, Centreville, Vance, West Blocton, Woodstock.The county seat is located at Centreville, the site of the falls in the Cahaba River. Other towns include Blocton, West Blocton, Brent, Six Mile and Ashby.

A Map of Bibb County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Bibb County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Bibb County, Alabama Courthouse
Bibb County, AL Courthouse

The Bibb County Courthouse is located in Centreville, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bibb county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Bibb County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1830 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Bibb County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1820, Probate Records from 1830 and Land Records from 1818. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Bibb County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Bibb County Health Department has Birth Records from 1900 - 1919, Death records from  1900 - 1919. You may go to any county health department in the State of Alabama to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait..

Bibb County, Alabama Census Records

Bibb County, Alabama Vital Records

Bibb County, Alabama Resources

Bibb County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records