Montgomery County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:47:35+00:00

Montgomery County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Montgomery County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 6, 1816 from Monroe County. Montgomery county was named in honor of Major Lemuel P. Montgomery (Tennessee) who was killed in the Battle of Horseshoe Bend, 1814. The act that created Montgomery County provided that its courts were to meet initially at Fort Jackson, located at the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers and site of the surrender of the Creek Indians to Gen. Andrew Jackson, in present-day Elmore County. Andrew DexterThe courts met there only until June 1818, after which they met in nearby Alabama Town, founded by Gen. John Scott, who with several other migrants from Georgia founded the town on the bluff of the Alabama River. The men abandoned it when a group from New England, led by Andrew Dexter, founded a nearby town in what is now the downtown area of Montgomery and named it New Philadelphia. Scott and his companions then built a new town they called East Alabama. Seeing themselves as rivals, the citizens of East Alabama contemptuously referred to New Philadelphia as Yankee Town. The bitter rivalry ended, however, when the towns merged on December 3, 1819, and incorporated as the city of Montgomery, just prior to Alabama being admitted as a state. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Montgomery County is bordered by Elmore County (north), Macon County (northeast), Bullock County (east), Pike County (southeast), Crenshaw County (southwest), Lowndes County (west), Autauga County (northwest).

Montgomery County Cities and Towns include Montgomery, Pike Road.

A Map of Montgomery County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Montgomery County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, Alabama Courthouse
Montgomery County, AL Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Montgomery, Alabama , which was also selected as the state capitol in 1846, is often referred to as the Cradle of the Confederacy because the city briefly served as the first capital of the Confederate States of America in 1861. Montgomery County is the seat of state government. Montgomery County is governed by an elected five-member commission and includes two incorporated communities. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montgomery county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Montgomery County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1811 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Montgomery County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1817, Probate Records from 1819 and Land Records from 1819. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office. Search the Montgomery County Probate Records
  • Montgomery County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Montgomery County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908, Death records from 1908 .

Montgomery County, Alabama Census Records

Montgomery County, Alabama Vital Records

Montgomery County, Alabama Resources

Montgomery County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records