Pike County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:48:43+00:00

Pike County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Pike County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 17, 1821 from Henry County and Montgomery County. The county boundaries changed several times before being set at their current locations in 1866. AAAAA county was named in honor of Zebulon Pike (1779–1813) of New Jersey, explorer and officer in War of 1812. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Pike County is bordered by Bullock County (northeast), Barbour County (east), Dale County (southeast), Coffee County (south), Crenshaw County (west), Montgomery County (northwest).

Pike County Cities and Towns include Banks, Brundidge, Goshen, Lewis, Troy.

A Map of Pike County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Pike County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Pike County, Alabama Courthouse
Pike County, AL Courthouse

The Pike County Courthouse is located in Troy, Alabama. The county Seat was established at Louisville, later moved to Monticello and finally located in Troy in 1839. Troy became the county seat of Pike County in 1837, when citizens voted to move it from Monticello, in the eastern part of the county. The current courthouse was built in 1880.The Courthouse destroyed by fire in 1830, and all records were destroyed . Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pike county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Pike County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1830 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Pike County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1830, Probate Records from 1830 and Land Records from 1830. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Pike County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Pike County Health Department has Birth Records from 1886 (with broken years), Death records from 1881.

AAAAA County, Alabama Census Records

AAAAA County, Alabama Vital Records

Pike County, Alabama Resources

Pike County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records