Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:32:16+00:00

Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Bullock County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 5, 1866 from Barbour County, Macon County, Montgomery County and Pike County Counties, though its boundaries were changed in Feb 1867. Bullock county was named in honor of  Confederate Col. Edward C. Bullock of Barbour County. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Bullock County is bordered by Macon County (north), Russell County (northeast), Barbour County (southeast), Pike County (southwest), Montgomery County (west)

Bullock County Cities and Towns include Midway, Union Springs.

A Map of Bullock County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Bullock County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Bullock County, Alabama Courthouse
Bullock County, AL Courthouse

The Bullock County Courthouse is located in Union Springs, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bullock county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Bullock County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1867 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Bullock County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Land Records from 1867. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Bullock County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Bullock County Health Department has Birth and Death Records from 1908.

Bullock County, Alabama Census Records

Bullock County, Alabama Vital Records

Bullock County, Alabama Resources

Bullock County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records