Macon County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:44:52+00:00

Macon County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Macon County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 18, 1832 from territory acquired from the last cession of the Creek Indians, March 24, 1832. Macon County received its present dimensions in 1866. Macon county was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, a distinguished soldier and statesman from North Carolina. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Macon County is bordered by Tallapoosa County (north), Lee County (northeast), Russell County (southeast), Bullock County (south), Montgomery County (southwest), Elmore County (northwest).

Macon County Cities and Towns include Franklin, Creek Stand, Notasulga, Shorter, Tuskegee.

A Map of Macon County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Macon County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Macon County, Alabama Courthouse
Macon County, AL Courthouse

The Macon County Courthouse is located in Tuskegee, Alabama, which means "warrior" in the Muskhogean dialect of the Creek Indian language. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Macon county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Macon County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1828 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Macon County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1832, Probate Records from 1824 and Land Records from 1832. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Macon County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Macon County Health Department has Birth Records from 1928 , Death records from 1928 .

Macon County, Alabama Census Records

Macon County, Alabama Vital Records

Macon County, Alabama Resources

Macon County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records