Dale County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:37:29+00:00

Dale County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Dale County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 22, 1824 from Covington County and Henry County.. Dale county was named in honor of Samuel Dale (1772–1841), pioneer, Indian fighter, brigadier general and state legislator. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Dale County is bordered by Barbour County (north), Henry County (east), Houston County (southeast), Geneva County (southwest), Coffee County (west), Pike County (northwest).

Dale County Cities and Towns include Ariton, Asbury, Clayhatchee, Daleville, Dothan, Enterprise, Fort Rucker (U.S. Army base, treated as a census-designated place), Grimes, Level Plains, Midland City, Napier Field, Newton, Ozark, Pinckard.

A Map of Dale County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Dale County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Dale County, Alabama Courthouse
Dale County, AL Courthouse

The Dale County Courthouse is located in Ozark, Alabama. The Original County Seat was located at Dale Court House, which later became Daleville. An election in 1870 resulted in the removal of the county seat to Ozark. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1869 and 1884. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dale county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Dale County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1884 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Dale County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1884, Probate Records from 1895 and Land Records from 1884. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Dale County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Dale County Health Department has Birth Records from 1919 , Death records from 1920.

Dale County, Alabama Census Records

Dale County, Alabama Vital Records

Dale County, Alabama Resources

Dale County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records