Covington County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:36:38+00:00

Covington County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Covington County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 17, 1821 from Henry County. Its boundaries were rearranged in 1824, 1841 and 1868. In 1868 Aug., the name was changed to Jones County, though the original name was restored in Oct 1868. Covington county was named in honor of Brig. Gen. Leonard Wailes Covington, a soldier in the War of 1812 (Maryland). Learn More About State of Alabama History

Covington County is bordered by Butler County (north), Crenshaw County (north), Coffee County (east), Geneva County (east), Walton County, Florida (southeast), Okaloosa County, Florida (southwest), Escambia County (west), Conecuh County (west)

Covington County Cities and Towns include Andalusia, Babbie, Carolina, Florala, Gantt, Heath, Horn Hill, Libertyville, Lockhart, Onycha, Opp, Red Level, River Falls, Sanford.

A Map of Covington County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Covington County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Covington County, Alabama Courthouse
Covington County, AL Courthouse

The Covington County Courthouse is located in Andalusia, Alabama. The County Seat was first established at Montezuma, later named Covington. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1895. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Covington county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Covington County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Covington County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1895, Probate Records from 1881 and Land Records from 1882. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Covington County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Covington County Health Department has Birth Records from 1889, Death records from 1909.

Covington County, Alabama Census Records

Covington County, Alabama Vital Records

Covington County, Alabama Resources

Covington County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records