Conecuh County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:36:06+00:00

Conecuh County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Conecuh County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 13, 1818 from part of Monroe County. The county's size was altered several times before 1868, when it received its present dimensions. Conecuh county was named for the Conecuh River, which flows through the county. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Conecuh County is bordered by Butler County (northeast), Covington County (southeast), Escambia County (south), Monroe County (northwest).

Conecuh County Cities and Towns include Castleberry, Evergreen, McKenzie, Repton.

A Map of Conecuh County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Conecuh County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Conecuh County, Alabama Courthouse
Conecuh County, AL Courthouse

The Conecuh County Courthouse is located in Evergreen, Alabama. The County Seat was at Sparta from 1818 until 1868, when it was moved to Evergreen. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1868, 1875, 1885 and 1895. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Conecuh county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Conecuh County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1881 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Conecuh County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1866, Probate Records from 1870 and Land Records from 1866. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Conecuh County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Conecuh County Health Department has Birth Records from 1881, Death records from 1881.

Conecuh County, Alabama Census Records

Conecuh County, Alabama Vital Records

Conecuh County, Alabama Resources

Conecuh County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records