Walton County, Florida Genealogy Guide2016-07-04T00:30:29+00:00

Walton County, Florida Genealogy Guide

Walton County, Florida (Map It) was created on December 29, 1824 from Escambia County and Jackson County. Walton County was named for George Walton, first Secretary of Florida Territory. Learn More About State of Florida History

Walton County is bordered by Covington County, Alabama (northwest), Geneva County, Alabama (northeast), Holmes County (east), Washington County (east), Bay County (southeast), Okaloosa County (west).

Walton County Cities and Towns include DeFuniak Springs, Freeport, Paxton.

A Map of Walton County, Florida contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Walton Co. Historical Events:

  • The county was first settled largely by Scotchmen.
  • The county was raided by Federal troops during the Civil War but no battles took place.
  • Florida's first Chautauqua Association formed here in 1885.

Walton County, Florida Courthouse Records

Walton County, Florida Courthouse
Walton County, FL Courthouse

The Walton County Courthouse is located in DeFuniak Springs, Florida. Record Loss (Marriage & Probate). Learn More About State of Florida Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Walton county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Walton County Clerk of the Circuit Court / County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1885, Land Records from 1886, Probate Records from 1882 and Court Records from 1886. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court / County Clerk is custodian of all records of all predecessor courts, whether justice of the peace, city, county, probate, civil, or criminal.
  • Walton County Tax Collector collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.
  • Walton County Health Department has copies of Birth & Death certificates. Also has computer access from 1917 to present for birth records for the entire state as well as births that occurred in this county.

Walton County, Florida Census Records

Walton County, Florida Vital Records

Walton County, Florida Resources

Walton County, Florida External Links

Search Millions of Military Records