Geneva County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:41:11+00:00

Geneva County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Geneva County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 26, 1868 from Coffee County, Dale County and Henry County.. Geneva county was named for Geneva, its principal town and county seat.. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Geneva County is bordered by Colbert County (north), Lawrence County (east), Winston County (southeast), Marion County (south), Itawamba County, Mississippi (southwest), Tishomingo County, Mississippi (northwest).

Geneva County Cities and Towns include Belgreen, Hodges, Phil Campbell, Red Bay, Russellville, Vina.

A Map of Geneva County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Geneva County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Geneva County, Alabama Courthouse
Geneva County, AL Courthouse

The Geneva County Courthouse is located in Geneva, Alabama. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1898. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Geneva county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Geneva County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1898 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Geneva County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1898, Probate Records from 1898 and Land Records from 1868. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Geneva Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Geneva County Health Department has Birth Records from 1937 , Death records from 1937.

Geneva County, Alabama Census Records

Geneva County, Alabama Vital Records

Geneva County, Alabama Resources

Geneva County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records