Coffee County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:35:32+00:00

Coffee County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Coffee County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 29, 1841 from what had been part of Dale County. Coffee county was named in honor of Gen. John Coffee, a hero of the Creek War of 1813-14. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Coffee County is bordered by Pike County (north), Dale County (east), Geneva County (south), Covington County (west), Crenshaw County (northwest).

Coffee County Cities and Towns include Elba, Enterprise, Kinston, New Brockton.

A Map of Coffee County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Coffee County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Coffee County, Alabama Courthouse
Coffee County, AL Courthouse

The Coffee County Courthouse is located in Elba, Alabama. The first county seat was at Wellborn. The county courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1851, and the following year the legislature authorized an election to be held to select another site. The town of Elba, then called Bentonville, was chosen. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1859 and 1871. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Coffee county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Coffee County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1811 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Coffee County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1866, Probate Records from 1862 and Land Records from 1851. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Coffee County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Coffee County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908,Daeth records from 1920.

Coffee County, Alabama Census Records

Coffee County, Alabama Vital Records

Coffee County, Alabama Resources

Coffee County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records