Chilton County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:33:49+00:00

Chilton County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Chilton County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 30, 1868, from lands taken from Autauga County, Bibb County, Perry County and Shelby County. Chilton county was named in honor of Judge William Parish Chilton, chief justice of the AL Supreme Court and a member of the provisional and regular Congress of the Confederacy. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Chilton County is bordered by Shelby County (north), Coosa County (east), Elmore County (southeast), Autauga County (south), Perry County (southwest), Bibb County (northwest).

Chilton County Cities and Towns include Clanton, Isabella, Jemison, Maplesville, Mountain Creek, Stanton, Thorsby, Verbena.

A Map of Chilton County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Chilton County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Chilton County, Alabama Courthouse
Chilton County, AL Courthouse

The Chilton County Courthouse is located in Clanton, Alabama. The original county seat was at Grantville. When the courthouse burned in 1870, the county seat was removed to Goosepond, a stop on the Louisville and Nashville Railroad. The town was renamed Clanton after Brig. Gen. James Holt Clanton. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1870. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chilton county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Chilton County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1843 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Chilton County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1870, Probate Records from 1887 and Land Records from 1868. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Chilton County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Chilton County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908-1919, Death records from 1908-1919.

Chilton County, Alabama Census Records

Chilton County, Alabama Vital Records

Chilton County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records