Coosa County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:36:22+00:00

Coosa County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Coosa County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 18, 1832 from lands included in the Creek Indian Treaty of Cusseta, March 24, 1832. Coosa county was named for  the Coosa River, which forms its western boundary. The word "Coosa" is believed to mean "cane-brake" in the Alibama-Kossati Indian dialect. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Coosa County is bordered by Talladega County (north), Clay County (northeast), Tallapoosa County (east), Elmore County (south), Chilton County (west), Shelby County (northwest)

Coosa County Cities and Towns include Equality, Goodwater, Kellyton, Rockford.

A Map of Coosa County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Coosa County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Coosa County, Alabama Courthouse
Coosa County, AL Courthouse

The Coosa County Courthouse is located in Rockford, Alabama. A site on Albert Crumpler's plantation on Hatchemalega Creek was chosen as the county seat and given the name Lexington. In 1835 the name was changed to Rockford. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Coosa county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Coosa County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Coosa County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1834, Probate Records from 1834 and Land Records from 1832. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Coosa County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Coosa County Health Department has Birth Records from 1878, Death records from 1920. .

Coosa County, Alabama Census Records

Coosa County, Alabama Vital Records

Coosa County, Alabama Resources

Coosa County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records