Shelby County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:49:35+00:00

Shelby County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Shelby County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 7, 1818 from former Creek Indian territory ceded in the Treaty of Fort Jackson on August 9, 1814 and from Montgomery County. Shelby county was named in honor of Isaac Shelby (1750–1826), first Governor of Kentucky. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Shelby County is bordered by St. Clair County (northeast), Talladega County (east), Coosa County (southeast), Chilton County (south), Bibb County (southwest), Jefferson County (northwest).

Shelby County Cities and Towns include Alabaster, Birmingham, Calera, Chelsea, Childersburg, Columbiana, Harpersville, Helena, Hoover, Indian Springs Village, Inverness, Lake Purdy, Leeds, Meadowbrook, Montevallo, Pelham, Saginaw, Shelby, Sterrett, Vandiver, Vincent, Westover, Wilsonville, Wilton.

A Map of Shelby County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Shelby County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Shelby County, Alabama Courthouse
Shelby County, AL Courthouse
Old Shelby County, Alabama Courthouse
Old Shelby County Courthouse

The Shelby County Courthouse is located in Columbiana, Alabama. Shelbyville was the first county seat. In 1826 the town of Columbia changed its name to Columbiana and became the permanent county seat. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Shelby county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Shelby County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1819 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Shelby County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1819, Probate Records from 1819 and Land Records from 1819. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Shelby County Tax Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Shelby County Health Department has Birth Records from N/A, Death records from N/A.

Shelby County, Alabama Census Records

Shelby County, Alabama Vital Records

Shelby County, Alabama Resources

Shelby County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records