Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:51:27+00:00

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama (Map It) was created on  February 6, 1818 from the Cherokee and Choctaw Cession of 1816, though its present boundaries were not established until 1820. Tuscaloosa county was named for the Choctaw Indian word for the Black Warrior River, which flows through the area. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Tuscaloosa County is bordered by Walkery County (northeast), Jefferson County (east), Bibb County (southeast), Hale County (south), Greene County (southwest), Pickens County (west), Fayette County (northwest).

Tuscaloosa County Cities and Towns include Brookwood, Coaling, Coker, Holt, Lake View, Moundville, North Bibb, Northport, Tuscaloosa, Vance.

A Map of Tuscaloosa County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Courthouse
Tuscaloosa County, AL Courthouse

The Tuscaloosa County Courthouse is located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. First established in Tuscaloosa in 1819, moved to Newton in 1822, and then back to Tuscaloosa shortly thereafter. The town of Tuscaloosa was designated the state capitol from 1826-45 Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Tuscaloosa county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Tuscaloosa County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1823 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Tuscaloosa County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1821, Probate Records from 1823 and Land Records from 1823. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Tuscaloosa County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Tuscaloosa County Health Department has Birth Records from 1880 , Death records from 1880

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Census Records

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Vital Records

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Resources

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records