Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:39:17+00:00

Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Fayette County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 20, 1824 from portions of Marion County, Pickens County and Tuscaloosa County. Fayette county was named in honor of French general and supporter of the American Revolution, Marquis de La Fayette, who was touring Alabama at the time of the county's formation. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Fayette County is bordered by Marion County (north), Walker County (east), Tuscaloosa County (southeast), Pickens County (southwest), Lamar County (west).

Fayette County Cities and Towns include Belk, Berry, Fayette, Glen Allen, Gu-Win, Winfield, Hubbertville, Bazemore.

A Map of Fayette County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Fayette County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Fayette County, Alabama Courthouse
Fayette County, AL Courthouse

The Fayette County Courthouse is located in Fayette, Alabama. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1866 and in 1916. The present courthouse was built in 1911. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fayette county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Fayette County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1851 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Fayette County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1850, Probate Records from 1851 and Land Records from 1824. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Fayette County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Fayette County Health Department has Birth Records from 1884-1903 , Death records from 1889-1903.

Fayette County, Alabama Census Records

Fayette County, Alabama Vital Records

Fayette County, Alabama Resources

Fayette County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records