Pickens County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:48:26+00:00

Pickens County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Pickens County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 20, 1820 as Picken's County, and was formed from Tuscaloosa County The boundaries were changed several times between 1820 and 1866 when its present boundaries were fixed. AAAAA county was named in honor of Andrew Pickens (1739–1817) of South Carolina, General in the Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Pickens County is bordered by Lamar County (North), Fayette County (Northeast), Tuscaloosa County (East), Greene County (Southeast), Sumter County (South), Noxubee County, Mississippi (Southwest), Lowndes County, Mississippi (West).

Pickens County Cities and Towns include Aliceville, Carrollton, Ethelsville, Gordo, Macedonia, McMullen, Memphis, Pickensville, Reform, McShan.

A Map of Pickens County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Pickens County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Pickens County, Alabama Courthouse
Pickens County, AL Courthouse
Old Pickens County, Alabama Courthouse
Old Pickens County Courthouse

The Pickens County Courthouse is located in Carrollton, Alabama. The county seat was established at Picken's Courthouse (later called Pickens and Pickensville) and moved to Carrollton in 1830. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1864 and 1876, all records destroyed. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pickens county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Pickens County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1876 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Pickens County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1876, Probate Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1876. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Pickens County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Pickens County Health Department has Birth Records from 1903 , Death records from 1903.

AAAAA County, Alabama Census Records

AAAAA County, Alabama Vital Records

Pickens County, Alabama Resources

Pickens County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records