Rutherford County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:44:02+00:00

Rutherford County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Rutherford County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1779 from Tryon County. This county was named for Griffith Rutherford (c. 1721–1805), an officer in the American Revolutionary War and a political leader in North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Rutherford County is bordered by McDowell County (north), Burke County (northeast), Cleveland County (east), Cherokee County, South Carolina (southeast), Spartanburg County, South Carolina (southwest), Polk County (southwest), Henderson County (west), Buncombe County (northwest).

Rutherford County Cities and Towns include Bostic, Chimney Rock, Ellenboro, ForestCity, LakeLure, Ruth, Rutherfordton, Spindale. A Map of Rutherford County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Rutherford County Townships include Camp Creek, Chimney Rock, Colfax, Cool Springs, Duncans Creek, Gilkey, Golden Valley, Green Hill, High Shoals, Logan Store, Morgan, Rutherfordton, Spindale, Sulphur Springs, and Union. View a Map of Rutherford County Townships.

Rutherford County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Rutherford County, North Carolina Courthouse
Rutherford County, NC Courthouse

The Rutherford County Courthouse is located in Rutherfordton, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rutherford county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Rutherford County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1907 by fire

  • Rutherford County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1774, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1768. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Rutherford County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1782, Court Records from 1779 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Rutherford County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Rutherford Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Rutherford County, North Carolina Census Records

Rutherford County, North Carolina Vital Records

Rutherford County, North Carolina Resources

Rutherford County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records