Burke County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:34:16+00:00

Burke County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Burke County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on April 8, 1777 from Rowan County. This county was named for Thomas Burke (1747–1783), a member of the Continental Congress and governor of North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Burke County is bordered by Caldwell County (north), Catawba County (east), Cleveland County (southeast), Rutherford County (southwest), McDowell County (west), Avery County (northwest).

Burke County Cities and Towns include ConnellysSprings, Drexel, GlenAlpine, Hildebran, Morganton, Rhodhiss, RutherfordCollege, Valdese. A Map of Burke County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Burke County Townships include Drexel, Icard, Jonas Ridge, Linville, Lovelady, Lower Creek, Lower Fork, Morganton, Quaker Meadows, Silver Creek, Smoky Creek, Upper Creek, Upper Fork and Valdese. View a Map of Burke County Townships.

Burke County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Burke County, North Carolina Courthouse
Burke County, NC Courthouse

The Burke County Courthouse is located in Morganton, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Burke county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Burke County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1865 by fire, some records were destroyed.

  • Burke County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1780, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1770. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Burke County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1776, Court Records from 1755 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Burke County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Burke Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Burke County, North Carolina Census Records

Burke County, North Carolina Vital Records

Burke County, North Carolina Resources

Burke County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records