Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:03:25+00:00

Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Henderson County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 15, 1838 from Buncombe County. This county was named for Leonard Henderson (1772–1833), Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Henderson County is bordered by Buncombe County (north), Rutherford County (northeast), Polk County (east), Greenville County, South Carolina (south), Transylvania County (west) .

Henderson County Cities and Towns include Balfour, Barker Heights, Bat Cave, East Flat Rock, Etowah, Flat Rock, Fletcher, Fruitland, Hendersonville, Horse Shoe, Laurel Park, Mills River, Mountain Home, Saluda, Tuxedo, Valley Hill, Zirconia. A Map of Henderson County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Henderson County Townships include Blue Ridge, Clear Creek, Crab Creek, Edneyville, Green River, Hendersonville, Hoopers Creek, and Mills River. View a Map of Henderson County Townships.

Henderson County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Henderson County, North Carolina Courthouse
Henderson County, NC Courthouse

Old Henderson County Courthouse

The Henderson County Courthouse is located in Hendersonville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Henderson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Henderson County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Henderson County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1838, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1835. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Henderson County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1838, Court Records from 1838 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Henderson County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Henderson Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Henderson County, North Carolina Census Records

Henderson County, North Carolina Vital Records

Henderson County, North Carolina Resources

Henderson County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records